Lifestyle

How Success Is Actually Hindering Ball Park Music’s Sam Cromack

By  | 

How Success Is Actually Hindering Ball Park Music’s Sam Cromack

Finally quitting your day job as a barista because your band has found success surely sounds like the dream of most up-and-coming musicians, but according to Ball Park Music’s Sam Cromack, it may not be all it’s cracked up to be.

Speaking to the Sydney Morning Herald, Cromack explained that he was able to quit his job as a barista back in 2012. But being at home all day meant he had plenty of free time, yet not enough creative input.

“It’s harder to let your mind wander when you have so much free time, and there has been a lot of times where the lack of structure and routine has had a negative effect on me,” Cromack told the Sydney Morning Herald.

“Recently I talked to my wife about maybe volunteering somewhere one or two days a week so that I have some other task to get me out of the house or meet other people, or even do something I don’t particularly like,” he added.

“I can’t help but feel like a spoiled brat, even though I’m doing something I love that fulfils my ambitions. I have moments of satisfaction, but the overriding feeling is that I don’t deserve this and it’s a scam.”

Ball Park Music are set to release their fourth studio album, Every Night The Same Dream, later this month and are hitting the road on a national tour throughout September and October.

Ball Park Music National Tour Dates

Friday, 19th August 2016 – ALBUM LAUNCH
Queen Street Mall, Brisbane

Saturday, 20th August 2016 – VINYL LAUNCH
Sonic Sherpa Records, Brisbane

plus…

Saturday, 3rd September 2016
Showtunes, Jindabyne

Thursday, 22nd September 2016
Studio 56 @ Miami Marketta, Gold Coast

Friday, 23rd September 2016
Solbar, Maroochydoore

Saturday, 24th September 2016 – SOLD OUT
The Triffid, Brisbane (AA)

Sunday, 25th September 2016
The Triffid, Brisbane (AA)

Thursday, 29th September 2016
ANU Bar, Canberra

Friday, 30th September 2016
Enmore Theatre, Sydney (AA)

Saturday, 1st October 2016
Yours & Owls Festival, Wollongong

Tuesday, 4th October 2016
Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Thursday, 6th October 2016
Barwon Club, Geelong

Friday, 7th October 2016 – SOLD OUT
170 Russell, Melbourne

Saturday, 8th October 2016
The Uni Bar, Hobart

Friday, 14th October 2016
The Gov, Adelaide (AA)

Saturday, 15th October 2016
The Capitol, Perth

Friday, 21st October 2016
Discovery, Darwin

Saturday, 22nd October 2016
The Gapview Hotel, Alice Springs

Friday, 28th October 2016
The Venue, Townsville

Saturday, 29th October 2016
Tanks, Cairns (15+)